The Eastern Collegiate Football Conference announced its 2009 all-conference teams following a vote of the conference coaches. A total of 82 student-athletes received recognition after the completion of the league's inagural season.

Mount Ida sophomore running back Johrone Bunch was named Offensive Player of the Year while teammate Kyle Watkins was named Special Teams Player of the Year. Norwich senior defensive end Reza Afsarmanesh was selected as the Defensive Player of the Year while Gallaudet's Tom Pangia and Norwich's Kris Sabourin shared Rookie of the Year honors.

Gallaudet head coach Ed Hottle was honored as the ECFC Coach Of The Year award after leading the Bison to a 4-2 conference mark and 6-4 record overall. The Bison tied for second place in the ECFC and Hottle coordinated a four win improvement over a season ago. His squad was second in the conference averaging 290 yards rushing per contest and averaged 24.2 points per game.

View Complete All-Conference Teams

Offensive Player of the Year

Mount Ida sophomore running back Johrone Bunch averaged 150.6 yards on the ground and scored 13 touchdowns setting school records in each category. Bunch ran for 217 yards at Becker and 351 yards and five touchdowns against Castleton in back to back conference games this season. The 351 yard performance was the highest single rushing effort this season in division III. The sophomore has also played quarterback and receiver as well as the team's punter

Defensive Player of the Year

Norwich senior defensive end Reza Afsarmanesh was ranked among the league leaders in sacks (6), tackles for loss (14.5), forced fumbles (3), and tackles per game (7.0). The native of Sunrise, Florida recorded 10 tackles with two sacks and a forced fumble in a 14-7 win over Gallaudet and had nine tackles with a forced fumble in a 15-3 victory over Maritime.

Special Teams Player of the Year

Mount Ida kick return specialist Kyle Watkins has been outstanding this season and throughout his career as a Mustang returning kicks. The senior from New Haven, Conn. is currently in the top 10 in kick returners nationally. This season Watkins returned two kickoffs for touchdowns including an 85 yarder in a pivitol conference win versus Husson University. Watkins holds the school return records for punt return yards (412), punt returns (41), and kick return touchdowns (4).

Co-Rookies of the Year

As a middle linebacker for the top-ranked ECFC defense, freshman Gallaudet's Tom Pangia helped the Bison to the 15th best defense in Division III allowing 250 yards per game. Pangia ranks 12th in the ECFC with 66 tackles, tied for the most by a freshman in the conference, and ninth in the ECFC for tackles for loss (0.70 per game).

Posting a 7-1 mark as a starter, Norwich's Kris Sabourin directed the Cadet offense rushing for 60.7 yards per game while scoring two TDs while throwing for 4 others. The rookie quarterback rushed 103 times this year for 546 yards and attempted 103 passes completing 35% for 420 yards.

2009 All-ECFC Teams

Offensive Player of the Year
Johrone Bunch, Mount Ida

Defensive Player of the Year
Reza Afsarmanes, Norwich

Special Teams Player of the Year
Kyle Watkins, Mount Ida

Co-Rookies of the Year
Tom Pagnia, Gallaudet
Kris Sabourin, Norwich

Coach of the Year
Ed Hottle, Galludet


QB Shane Brozowski, Castleton Fr.
RB Johrone Bunch, Mount Ida So.
RB Julius Williams, Husson Sr.
FB Jamie Spanopoulos, Maritime So.
WR Evan Cassidy, Castleton Fr.
WR Ryan Grillo, Becker Sr.
WR Kyle Watkins, Mount Ida Sr.
TE Nick Lynch, Mount Ida So.
OT Jon Benson, Husson Sr.
C Matt Cirella, Marititime Sr.
OL Michael Horn, Mount Ida Sr.
C William Jacobs, Gallaudet Sr.
OT Robert Jr. Johnson , Maritime Sr.
K Jamal Mitchell, Anna Maria Fr.
RS Kyle Watkins, Mount Ida Sr.
QB Anthony Gagliano, Maritime So.
RB Nate Adames, Anna Maria Fr.
RB Tyler Carpenter, Castleton Fr.
FB Danny Triplett, Norwich Fr.
WR Domenique Concepcion, Anna Maria Fr.
WR Chris Denton, Norwich Fr.
WR Philip Hayes, Gallaudet So.
TE Ryan Mercado, Becker Sr.
OG Frank Adamo, Maritime Jr.
RG Benjamin Bottoms, Gallaudet Sr.
OL Cameron Coe-Smith, Becker Jr.
LT Chris Marden, Norwich Jr.
C Rob Sturgis, Norwich So.
OL Michael Walsh, Maritime Sr.
K Justin Wilson, Gallaudet Sr.
RS Evan Cassidy, Castleton Fr.
DE Reza Afsarmanesh, Norwich Sr.
DT Joshua Doudt, Gallaudet Sr.
DL Eli Shuler, Mount Ida Fr.
DL Zach Sucharski, Norwich Jr.
LB Rocco DiMeco, Norwich Jr.
LB Bobby Gilbert, Husson Sr.
LB Michael Oehl, Maritime Sr.
LB Tom Pangia, Gallaudet Fr.
DB Julien Baptiste, Mount Ida Jr.
S Donovan Brown, Norwich Sr.
FS Ryan Leary, Maritime Sr.
S Jared Vollmar, Gallaudet So.
P Johrone Bunch , Mount Ida So.
DT Kevin Allen, Gallaudet Fr.
DT Rob Gorgy, Maritime So.
DT Ricky McClain, Maritime Fr.
DE Andrew Nimmo, Maritime Sr.
LB Keith Barnes, Maritime So.
LB Rich Brandt, Anna Maria So.
LB Keenon Blindow, Husson Sr.
LB Calvin Doudt, Gallaudet Sr.
LB David Green, Mount Ida Sr.
DB Jake Bateman, Becker Jr.
S Shane Gardner, Mount Ida Jr.
CB Sean Wiggers, Maritime So.
CB Justin Wilson, Gallaudet Sr.
P James DeVoe, Castleton Fr.
P Brian Segit, Norwich Jr.


Honorable Mention

Becker: Tyler Barnes (DL,So.), John Dutchick (LB,So.), Austin Widmer (DL,Sr.); Castleton: Randy Babineau (RB, Sr.), Adam Farmer (TE, Fr.), Phil Hall (C, So.), Luis Robitaille (K, Jr.), Cody Tancreti (S, Fr.), Dustin Young (LB, So.); Gallaudet: Jimmy Gardner (QB, Sr.), Michael Gimeli (FB, So.), Phillip Hayes (RB, So.), Ryan Mahoney (OL, So.), Jon Van Wey (DE, So.); Maritime: John Gagliano (RB, Jr.), Steve Roman (SS, So.), Travis Scott (RB, Fr.); Norwich: Andrew Fulford (RB, So.), Joe Gumberwicz (LB, So.), Don Hanni(RG, Jr.), Dan Reale (LB, Jr.), Kris Sabourin (QB, Fr.), DJ Siverhus (CB, Fr.)

ECFC all-conference selections are determined by a vote of the conference coaches. Additional players honored are due to ties in the voting.