About the ECFC

The Eastern Collegiate Football Conference was formed in the spring of 2009 as an NCAA Division III single sport football conference. The conference, named after the geographic location of the institutions began competition in the fall of 2009.

Founding members were Anna Maria College (Worcester, Mass.), Becker College (Leicester, Mass.), Castleton University (Castleton, Vt.), Gallaudet University (Washington, D.C.), Husson University (Bangor, Maine), Maritime College State University of New York (Throggs Neck, N.Y.), Mount Ida College (Newton, Mass.), and Norwich University (Northfield, Vt.).

Beginning with the 2017 season Alfred State University (Alfred, NY) and Dean College (Franklin, MA) joined the league as full members while Becker and Norwich departed the league.


Past Champions

2009: Norwich University
2010: SUNY Maritime*
2011: Norwich*
2012: Mount Ida*
2013: Gallaudet*
2014: Husson*
2015: Norwich*
2016: Husson*
2017: Husson*

* indicates representation of the ECFC in the NCAA Division III Football Postseason

Mission Statement

The mission of the conference is to:

  1. Promote intercollegiate varsity football as an integral part of the educational experience of all competitors. 
  2. Establish a conference schedule and determine a conference championship that will represent the conference as the automatic qualifier to the NCAA national tournament.
  3. Adopt sportsmanship, fair play, moral integrity and competitive excellence as cornerstones of the conference.


Click here to view a PDF version of the Conference Bylaws