2011 ECFC All-Conference Teams Announced

View Complete Release

The Eastern Collegiate Football Conference announced its 2011 all-conference teams following a vote of the conference coaches. A total of 95 student-athletes received recognition after the completion of the regular season. Senior running back Johrone Bunch from Mount Ida was named Offensive Player of the Year while a pair of junior defenders, Maritime linebacker Keith Barnes and Mount Ida defensive lineman A.J. Knibbs shared Defensive Player of the Year accolades. Norwich kicker Long Ding was named the leagues Special Teams Player of the Year for the second consecutive season while Gallaudet's Quentin Williams collected Rookie of the Year and Norwich's Rob Sturgis was named the Offensive Lineman of the Year.

Mount Ida senior running back Johrone Bunch ends his career as the conference's all-time leading rusher. In nine contests, Bunch ran for 1465 yards on 257 carries for an average of 5.7 yards per carry with 13 touchdowns. The nation's second leading rusher with 163 yards per game, Bunch can surpass his own ECFC single season record of 1613 rushing yards set in 2009 with 149 yards Saturday in the ECAC North Atlantic Bowl.

Maritime junior linebacker Keith Barnes earned ECFC Defensive Player of the Year honors for the second consecutive season. Barnes, who was named Maritime's most valuable player this season, ranks 12th nationally in solo tackles (68) and posted 88 tackles, nine for loss, with three sacks two forced fumbles and two interceptions.

Mount Ida junior defensive end A. J. Knibbs is among the national leaders with nine sacks this season. Knibbs, who recorded 41 tackles, including 13 for loss of 66 yards, added a forced fumble, five pass breakups and one blocked kick.

Norwich kicker Long Ding earned ECFC Special Teams Player of the Year for the second straight year. The senior has made 33 of 34 PAT attempts and 12 of 15 field goals including a 51-yarder. The senior from Qing Dao, China who handled place-kicking and punting duties this season, ranks first in ECFC in made field goals and field goal and extra point accuracy and earned October recognition from Fred Mitchell Award for his on and off field success.

Norwich senior Rob Sturgis anchors an offensive line, as starting center, that blocks for a rushing offense that ranks No. 6 in Division III and leads ECFC in yards per game. Sturgis leads a front line unit that has surrendered only four sacks in 10 games ranking second in Division III for fewest allowed.

As a freshman, Gallaudet standout Quentin Williams had a huge impact right away for the Bison. Playing running back and quarterback at times, Williams ranked 6th in the ECFC in rushing yards per game (87.0), scored seven rushing touchdowns and one passing touchdown. The freshman also returned kicks ranking third in Division III nationally with 32.6 yards per kick return including two touchdowns. The rookie had a career long 86-yard touchdown run against Castleton and amassed 234 rushing yards on 20 carries in just 18 minutes against the Spartans before having his season end in his team's eighth contest with an injury in the second quarter.

Norwich head coach Mark Murnyack was honored as the ECFC Coach Of The Year award after leading the Cadets to the ECFC title with a perfect 7-0 conference mark and an automatic berth to the NCAA Division III Championship.

ECFC all-conference selections are determined by a vote of the conference coaches. Additional players honored are due to ties in the voting.

2011 ECFC All-Conference Teams

  Offensive Player of the Year  
RB Johrone Bunch, Mount Ida Sr.
  Co-Defensive Players of the Year  
LB Keith Barnes, Maritime Jr.
DE A.J. Knibbs, Mount Ida Jr.
  Offensive Lineman of the Year
OL Rob Sturgis, Norwich Sr.
  Special Teams Player of the Year
K Long Ding, Norwich Sr.
  Rookie of the Year  
RB/QB Quentin Williams, Gallaudet Fr.
  Coach of the Year  
  Mark Murnyack, Norwich  


QB Shane Brozowski, Castleton Jr.
RB Johrone Bunch, Mount Ida Sr.
RB Andrew Fulford, Norwich Sr.
FB Jamie Spanopoulos, Maritime (N.Y.) Sr.
WR Brandon Boyle, Castleton So.
WR Domenique Concepcion, Anna Maria Jr.
WR Ryne Worsham, Gallaudet Jr.
TE Adam Farmer, Castleton Jr.
OL Andrew Cosby, Maritime (N.Y.) So
OL Brad Deuring, Husson Sr.
OL Phil Hall, Castleton Sr.
OL Ryan Mahoney, Gallaudet Sr.
OL Rob Sturgis, Norwich Sr.
K Long Ding, Norwich Sr.
RS Kyle Gregg, Becker Fr.
QB Santino Simone, Anna Maria Jr.
RB Tyler Carpenter, Castleton Jr.
RB Quentin Williams, Gallaudet Fr.
FB Michael Hantge, Gallaudet So.
WR Audie Murphy, Husson Jr.
WR Luis Sanchez, Becker So.
WR Matt Valentini, Mount Ida Jr.
TE Blake Simpson, Anna Maria Sr.
OL Frank Civitello, Mount Ida So.
OL Cameron Coe-Smith, Becker Sr.
OL Matt Gallagher, Norwich So.
OL Chris Kiernan, Castleton Sr.
OL Sean Southworth, Norwich Jr.
K Madison Leary, Maritime (N.Y.) Sr.
RS Quentin Williams, Gallaudet Fr.
DL Brandon Fowler, Norwich Sr.
DL Rob Gorgy, Maritime (N.Y.) Sr.
DL Matt Harris, Gallaudet So.
DL A.j. Knibbs, Mount Ida Jr.
LB Keith Barnes, Maritime (N.Y.) Jr.
LB Melvin Booker, Becker So.
LB Joseph Gumbrewicz, Norwich Sr.
LB Tom Pangia, Gallaudet Jr.
DB Asante Harris, Becker Fr.
DB Sean Stone, Norwich Sr.
DB Tony Tatum, Gallaudet Jr.
DB Jovan Wilkins, Mount Ida Fr.
P Madison Leary, Maritime (N.Y.) Sr.
DL Chris Dalecki, Husson Sr.
DL Jon Proto, Mount Ida So.
DL Matt Simonelli, Norwich Jr.
DL Ernest Wiggins, Husson So.
LB Jaris Alleyne, Gallaudet Fr.
LB Stephan Dance, Husson Fr.
LB Jah-Son Johnson, Mount Ida Fr.
LB Josh Osborne, Castleton Jr.
DB Mackenson Charles, Mount Ida Sr.
DB Jeremy Garcia, Maritime (N.Y.) Jr.
DB Cody TanCreti, Castleton Jr.
DB Kyle Vanidestine, Husson Sr.
P Stew Quinn, Castleton Fr.


Honorable Mention

Anna Maria:  Jason Campbell (DL, Fr.), Kevin Card (LB, Fr.), Brian Conneely (OL, So.), Jordan Koehler (LB, So.), Kevin McCoy (DB, So.), Jamal Mitchell (K, Jr.), Robert Small (RB, So.) Becker: Chad Bacon (K, Fr.), Robert Baker (QB, Jr.), Corinthian Bostic (WR, Fr.), Vincent Cawley (FB, Fr.), Eric Glynn (P, Jr.), Kyle Gregg (RB, Fr.), Tino Lopes (DL, Sr.), Tevin Loyd (DB, So.) Castleton: Brandon Bergeron (RS, Jr.), Cameron Laundry (DL, Jr.), Ethan Macura (DL, So.), Zack Waitkus (WR, Jr.) Gallaudet: Shelby Bean (P, Jr.),Tyler Snider (OL, Fr.), Adham Talaat (DL, So.), John Van Wey (DL, Sr.) Husson: Kyle Bishop (P, Fr.), Audie Murphy (RS, Jr.) Maritime: Gary Bigham (FB, So.), Andrew Cohen (OL, Jr.), Fritz Jean (RS, Jr.), Pat Lasher (LB, Jr.), Robert Marziliano (OL, So.), Ricky McClain (DL, Jr.), Steve Roman (DB, Sr.), Sean Wiggers (DB, Sr.) Mount Ida:Matt Bonomolo (OL, Jr.), Jovan Wilkins (RS, Fr.) Norwich: Dan Gogan (DB, So.), Jimmy Labell (LB, So.), Brandon Rudd (RS, So.), Kris Sabourin (QB, Jr.)

Norwich Wins Sixth Straight
October 29, 2011 Norwich Wins Sixth Straight
Becker Falls To WPI 31-3
September 17, 2011 Becker Falls To WPI 31-3
Pride Pound Eagles
September 17, 2011 Pride Pound Eagles
Husson Bulldogged by Adrian
September 2, 2011 Husson Bulldogged by Adrian